Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

This week’s photo challenge is Lunchtime, click here to see the other entries. I will warn you, though, they might make you feel hungry!

Since I made the switch over to living plant-based, I’ve prepared most of my food at home from scratch. I never imagined myself spending so much time in the kitchen! My lunch is no exception. As I’m so busy during the week, I tend to cook big pots of food such as risotto, bolognese or stew on the weekend and then batch it up to take into work with me during the week.

I’m the first to admit that I’m not a great cook, but as I rarely cook for anyone other than myself I don’t get many complaints. When I visit my family, I tend to cook as I’m the only plant-based person in the family, and I have a core few descent recipes that everyone likes. They don’t see me often enough to get bored of them.

Here are some of my plant-based concoctions from my kitchen:

DSC_0269

You’ve got to have a good starting point. I always try to buy fresh, local produce – organic if possible.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

Some nice warm leek and potato soup. I’ve eaten a lot of this over the long, cold winter we’re (hopefully) coming to the end of here in Wales.

DSC_0336

This is how my kitchen looks most weekends – piles of vegetables all chopped and ready to cook.

DSC_0512

Homemade Sushi is a perfect summer lunch. I prepare two days worth at a time and keep it in the fridge.

DSC_0426

Everyone deserves a treat sometimes. As well as trying vegan recipes, I’ve converted some of my old vegetarian recipes to make them plant-based. I’m also allergic to gluten, so home baking is quite often my only option for cakes and cookies.

This last photo wasn’t my lunch, but I thought I’d include it because it fits into the theme. When my godson was younger, he always asked for smiley faces when we ate out in restaurants. I promised him that one day I would find him a restaurant that served them. Whilst travelling along Route 66, we stopped for lunch at the Snow Cap cafe, and I spotted this on someone’s food and asked them if I could take a photo to show my godson.

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA

23 Replies to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime”

  1. love that sushi! incidentally, my wife might prepare some sushi too tomorrow!
    now, you made me craving!
    and organic? nothing beats the freshest without chemicals, of course!

    1. I’ve been craving it all winter! We’ve still got to wait a few more weeks for the peppers and cucumber to grow here in the UK so that I can make some – I can’t wait!

    1. I’m cooking today actually – butternut squash and carrot soup, hummus (for snacking in the week) and some vegetable stew to take to work for my lunch. I’m trying to keep the kitchen clean as I go, but as per usual it’s a mess!

  2. Hi Sas,
    I love using fresh veggies but I think that you outdistance me! Leek& potato soup is also a family favorite in my house.
    I love that last smiling photo.
    Cheers!

    1. I usually buy a big pile of fresh veggies from the farmers market on a Saturday morning and then work out what I can make with them 🙂

    1. Definitely! I have so much more energy, I’m able to focus more and my mood swings have virtually disappeared. Plus I’ve lost weight and I’ve only been ill once sine I turned plant-based almost 18 months ago 🙂

Leave a comment